关于我们

支持人们生活、工作和参与社区

纽约州发育障碍人士办公室 (OPWDD) 负责协调为患有发育障碍的纽约人提供的服务,包括智力障碍、脑瘫、唐氏综合症、自闭症谱系障碍、Prader-Willi 综合症和其他神经障碍。我们通过大约 600 个非营利服务提供机构的网络直接提供服务,其中约 80% 的服务由私营非营利组织提供,20% 由国营服务提供。

OPWDD 成立于 1978 年,前身为智力迟钝和发育障碍办公室,是一个独立的内阁级国家机构,主要是因为需要一个自治实体来执行 Willowbrook 同意法令以及由此导致的机构关闭和缩小规模。在随后的几十年中,它已成为该州最大的机构之一。由该机构支持的个人及其家庭成员建立了牢固的工作伙伴关系,塑造了该系统的发展方式,以支持越来越多的个人在其社区中以更大的独立性生活。

2010 年,纽约州更改了该机构的正式名称,从其新名称中删除了“智力迟钝”一词,该机构及其利益相关者合作伙伴对他们所支持的人们来说是一个历史性的里程碑。

支持和服务,包括 Medicaid 资助的长期护理服务,例如康复训练和临床服务,以及为超过 40,000 人提供的住宿支持和服务,主要在全州的社区环境中提供。 

除了这些 Medicaid 服务之外,OPWDD 还提供纽约州资助的家庭支持服务,旨在帮助家庭为全职住在家里的亲人提供护理,以及就业支持,包括持续工作辅导、工作匹配和职业培训。

愿景和价值观
想象

发育障碍人士在生活中与朋友、家人和其他人建立有意义的关系,体验个人健康和成长,住在他们选择的家中,并充分参与他们的社区。

价值观

我们的价值观描述了我们如何与我们所服务的人、他们的家人、员工、社区和彼此互动,包括同情心、尊严、多样性、卓越和诚实。

 

指导原则

我们的指导原则构成了我们开展业务的方式:

以人为本,最大限度地利用机会,促进和奖励卓越,提供平等的机会,培养伙伴关系和协作,并要求问责制和责任感。

策略计划
OPWDD 致力于在纽约州创建一个服务提供系统,以确保获取、公平和可持续性,同时满足我们支持的人们的需求。我们相信每一个符合条件的发育障碍纽约人都应该有平等的机会获得 OPWDD 服务,无论他们居住在哪个州、年龄或种族如何。 OPWDD 定期寻求利益相关者的反馈,为我们的决策提供信息,并通过我们的战略规划流程实现我们的系统目标。

专员
Kerri E. Neifeld

Kerri Neifeld在2021年11月初被州长Kathy Hochul提名为发展障碍办公室(OPWDD)专员后,担任该专员。
凯丽有一头侧分的黑色短直发。 微笑着。 穿着一件棕褐色的西装外套和一件黑色衬衫。
联系我们
OPWDD联系人的综合名单。
拨打7-1-1,为听障人士或有语言障碍的人拨打纽约中继电话。

About Us

Supporting People to Live, Work and Take Part in Their Community

The New York State Office for People With Developmental Disabilities (OPWDD) is responsible for coordinating services for New Yorkers with developmental disabilities, including intellectual disabilities, cerebral palsy, Down syndrome, autism spectrum disorders, Prader-Willi syndrome and other neurological impairments. We provide services directly and through a network of approximately 600 nonprofit service providing agencies, with about 80 percent of services provided by the private nonprofits and 20 percent provided by state-run services.

OPWDD was created in 1978 as the Office of Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities, an independent cabinet-level state agency, largely because of the need for an autonomous entity to implement the Willowbrook consent decree and the resulting closure and downsizing of institutions. In the decades that followed, it has become one of the state’s largest agencies. Individuals supported by this agency and their family members forged a strong working partnership that shaped the way the system grew to support increasing numbers of individuals to live with greater independence in their communities.

In 2010, the agency and its stakeholder partners marked an historic milestone for the people they support when New York State changed the agency’s official name, eliminating the term “mental retardation” from its new title.

Supports and services, which include Medicaid funded long-term care services such as habilitation and clinical services, as well as residential supports and services for over 40,000 people, are primarily provided in community settings across the state. 

In addition to these Medicaid services, OPWDD also provides New York State-funded family support services, which are designed to assist families in providing care for their loved ones who live full-time in their family home, and employment supports, which include ongoing job coaching, job matching, and vocational training.

Vision and Values
Vision

People with developmental disabilities enjoy meaningful relationships with friends, family and others in their lives, experience personal health and growth and live in the home of their choice and fully participate in their communities.

Values

Our values describe how we interact with the people we serve, their families, staff, the community and each other, including compassion, dignity, diversity, excellence, and honesty.

 

Guiding Principals

Our guiding principles frame how we conduct business:

Put the person first, maximize opportunities, promote and reward excellence, provide equity of access, nurture partnerships and collaborations,  and require accountability and responsibility.

Commissioner
Dr. Theodore Kastner

Biography

Dr. Theodore Kastner is Commissioner of the New York State Office for People With Developmental Disabilities.
Theodore Kastner Headshot