概述

联邦政府于 2021 年实施了美国救援计划,该计划通过 Medicaid 的联邦医疗援助百分比 (FMAP) 资金为家庭和社区服务预留资金。从 2021 年 4 月开始,联邦政府在 Medicaid 计划的支出份额一次性增加 10%,并延长至 2022 年 3 月。

整个夏天,OPWDD 邀请了我们支持的社区及其家人、倡导者和提供者的反馈,以确定如何最好地利用资金来支持人们。

资金指引

州应实施或补充实施一项或多项活动,以加强、扩大或加强州 Medicaid 计划下的家庭和社区服务。

纽约州应使用 (a) 小节下增加的联邦资金来补充而非替代通过自 2021 年 4 月 1 日生效的计划为符合条件的个人提供家庭和社区服务所花费的国家资金水平。

法规规定,增加的 FMAP 可用于在 HCBS 计划改进期间(定义为 2021 年 4 月 1 日至 2022 年 3 月 31 日)提供的服务。增加的 FMAP 所产生的州储蓄不一定必须花费在同一时间范围内。

CMS 已发布与 FMAP 资助相关的更详细指南

支持和加强直接支持劳动力
OPWDD 将其 ARPA 资金的大约一部分用于几项计划,这些计划旨在承认这些 DSP 的工作、支持保留并提高劳动力技能和能力。

服务投资

多元化、公平和包容
在 OPWDD 的员工队伍和计划中促进多样性、公平性和包容性。
投资数字
关键信息技术系统有待改进和更新。

Overview

The federal government implemented the American Rescue Plan in 2021 which sets aside funding for home and community-based services through Medicaid’s Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) funding. This is being delivered in the form of a 10 percent, one-time rise in the federal government’s share of spending on the Medicaid program starting April 2021 and extending through March 2022.

Over the summer, OPWDD invited feedback from the community of people we support and their family members, advocates and providers to determine how the funding can best be used to support people.

Funding Guidelines

The State shall implement, or supplement the implementation of, one or more activities to enhance, expand, or strengthen home and community-based services under the State Medicaid program.

The State shall use the Federal funds attributable to the increase under subsection (a) to supplement, and not supplant, the level of State funds expended for home and community-based services for eligible individuals through programs in effect as of April 1, 2021.

The statute establishes that the increased FMAP is available for services that are provided during the HCBS program improvement period, which is defined as April 1, 2021 through March 31, 2022. The resulting state savings from the increased FMAP do not necessarily have to be expended within that same timeframe.

More detailed guidance related to the FMAP funding has been released by CMS.

Supporting and Strengthening the Direct Support Workforce
OPWDD is dedicating roughly a percentage of its ARPA funds to several initiatives, which are proposed to acknowledge the work of these DSPs, support retention and enhance workforce skills and capacity.

Service Investments

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Advancement of diversity, equity and inclusion within OPWDD’s workforce and programs.
Invest in Digital
Critical information technology systems to be improved and updated.