Autism Spectrum Disorders Advisory Board

Autism Spectrum Disorders Advisory Board


In November of 2016, Governor Andrew Cuomo signed into law Chapter 469 of 2016 (Mental Hygiene § 13.42), which created the Autism Spectrum Disorders Advisory Board (the Board) to help provide guidance and information to New York policymakers, individuals with an autism spectrum disorder diagnosis (ASD), and families seeking reliable information regarding available services and supports. 

The board has the following tasks and duties:
(1) Study and review the effectiveness of supports and services currently being provided to people diagnosed with autism spectrum disorders;
(2) Identify legislative and regulatory activity which may be required to improve existing service systems that support people diagnosed with autism spectrum disorders;
(3) Identify methods of improving interagency coordination of services and maximize the impact and effectiveness of services and agency functions;
(4)  Identify strategies and methods of improving outreach and coordination of services associated with autism spectrum disorders for minority group members including, but not limited to, African American, Latino and Asian children; and
(5) Such other matters as may be deemed appropriate by the members of the board. 

The Autism Board is interested in hearing your questions, concerns and ideas at [email protected].



  • Courtney Burke, Chairperson
  •  Stephanie Andrews
  •  Mary Elizabeth Boatfield
  • Andrea Bonafiglia
  • Mary Lou Cancellieri
  • Charles Massimo
  • Joshua Mirsky
  • Dr. Robert E. Myers III
  • Patrick Paul
  • Michael Gilberg 


  • Chris Tosado, New York State Council on Children and Families
  • Sarah Kuriakose, New York State Office for Mental Health
  • Vicky Hiffa, New York State Developmental Disabilities Planning Council
  • Myla Harrison, New York State Department of Health
  • Renee Rider , New York State Office for Children and Families
  • Ceylane Meyers-Ruff, New York State Education Department
  • Chris Suriano, New York State Education Department
  • Dr. Helen Yoo, New York State Office for People With Developmental Disabilities


  • Kristin Thatcher 
  • Mike Tripodi 
  • Stephen Katz 
  • Sean Culkin
  • Matt Graham
  • Xavier Skeeter

Neurodiversity Flag

The board has launching the selection process of the Neurodiversity Flag. We encourage people with lived experience with neurodiversity to participate in choosing the final flag design. Please tell us which design you feel best represents neurodiversity by clicking on the link below and selecting one design.

Please be sure to only vote once. The voting period ends November 30th at 5PM. The Board will announce the winner of the public vote at the next Board meeting on December 6th.


Meeting Transcriptions

Autism Board Reports

Other Resources