福利发展资源工具箱。医疗保险

概述

在下面的章节中,提供了各种网页的链接供参考。 请注意,网页地址经常变化,虽然所提供的地址在本工具包发布时是准确的,但如果你无法通过链接访问任何网页,请参考联邦医疗保险的主要网站: www.medicare.gov ,并导航到你所寻求的信息。

定义

医疗保险是为65岁或以上,65岁以下有某些残疾,以及任何年龄的末期肾病患者提供的健康保险。建立Medicare的目的是为那些本来可能负担不起健康保险的人提供医院和医疗保险保护。医疗保险的目的是保护老年人和残疾人免受疾病的影响,否则他们的积蓄就会被耗尽。当残疾人有资格领取社会保障福利时,经过24个月的等待期,就有资格参加医疗保险。医疗保险由 医疗补助和医疗服务中心(CMS)管理。

 

医疗补助和医疗保险服务中心(CMS)出版了一本手册, 医疗保险& 你 ,提供有关医疗保险A、B、C和D部分所涵盖的服务信息。可致电1-800-MEDICARE(1-800-633-4227)和在 www.medicare.gov。

社会保障局还出版了《医疗保险》手册,分享有关资格、四个部分(医疗保险A、B、C和D)、如何申请福利和各种医疗保险储蓄计划的信息。 这本出版物可以在以下网址找到: https://www.ssa.gov/pubs/EN-05-10043.pdf 。 医疗保险储蓄计划的申请信息可在以下网站找到: https://www.ssa.gov/benefits/medicare/prescriptionhelp/cms.html

合格

如果一个人在Medicare覆盖的工作中工作了至少10年,至少65岁,并且是美国公民或合法居留在美国的公民和合法居留在美国的居民,如果他们有某些残疾或有末期肾脏疾病(需要透析或移植的永久性肾衰竭),就有资格享受Medicare。

對於由OPWDD提供服務的個人,醫療保險的資格通常是根據父母的工作記錄而定。(当父母开始领取社会安全局的残疾或退休福利时,或者当父母去世时--个人有资格领取成人残疾儿童(DAC)福利。)一旦个人领取了24个月的DAC福利,这个人就有资格享受Medicare。

医疗保险的四个组成部分

根据个人的情况和喜好,个人可能有资格使用不同的医疗保障部分。符合OPWDD资格的个人通常使用以下四个部分。

医疗保险A部分--医院保险

医疗保险B部分 - 医疗保险

医疗保险C部分 - 医疗保险优势计划

医疗保险D部分--处方药保险

医疗保险A部分--医院保险

联邦医疗保险A部分,即联邦医疗保险的医院保险部分,帮助支付医院和专业护理机构的护理、安宁疗护服务和一些家庭保健。

 

大多数人不需要为A部分支付月保费,因为保险是基于已经支付了医疗保险税的工作记录。

 

在工作期间没有缴纳医疗保险税但年龄在65岁或以上的人可以购买A部分保险。纽约州可以为领取补充安全收入的纽约州居民支付联邦医疗保险A部分保险费,由于工作历史不足,他们无权享受免保险费的A部分。关于A部分保险的更多信息可在以下网站找到: 医疗保险A部分

医疗保险A部分 报名程序

领取社会安全局退休福利或铁路退休福利(RRB)的个人在其65岁生日当月的第一天自动加入Medicare A部分。领取社会安全局残疾福利或铁路退休福利的人在领取残疾福利24个月后自动加入Medicare A部分;福利从第25个月开始。在该人有资格参加Medicare之前大约三个月,他们会收到有关Medicare的信息。

如果一个人在65岁生日之前没有领取社会保险或RRB福利,他们需要申请Medicare A部分,以获得保险。

某些根据上述要求没有资格参加联邦医疗保险A部分(医院保险)的老年人可以通过每月支付保费获得资格。如果一个人选择购买A部分保险,他们也必须加入B部分(医疗保险)。

要加入Medicare A部分,个人或代表应致电社会安全局,电话是1-800-772-1213。如果个人是铁路雇员或从铁路退休委员会领取福利,他们应致电当地铁路退休委员会办公室或1-800-772-5772,或访问 如何获得A部分 以获得投保的信息。

医疗保险B部分 - 医疗保险

医疗保险B部分(医疗保险)帮助支付医疗上必要的医生服务、门诊护理、家庭保健服务、耐用医疗设备、精神健康服务和其他医疗服务。B部分还包括许多预防服务。更多信息请见 医疗保险B部分

医疗保险B部分的资格

如果一个人有权享受免费的联邦医疗保险A部分,或者年龄在65岁或以上,是美国公民或在美国合法居留的人,也有资格享受联邦医疗保险B部分。

联邦医疗保险B部分每月都有保费。保费金额通常在每年一月社会安全生活费用调整时发生变化。在某些情况下,如果个人在刚获得资格时没有选择加入B部分,其保费金额可能更高。

医疗保险B部分 注册程序

领取社会安全局退休金或铁路退休福利的人,在其65岁生日当月的第一天自动加入医疗保险B部分。

一个65岁以下的残疾人,如果已经领取了24个月的社会安全残疾或铁路退休残疾福利,将在享受残疾待遇的第25个月起自动加入。在该人有资格参加医疗保险之前约三个月,他们将收到关于如何拒绝医疗保险B部分保险的信息,如果他们愿意这样做的话。对于居住在认证环境中的个人,代表受款人负责确保加入Medicare B部分。护理经理将协助没有代表受款人的个人,并可向受款人提供协助。收入支持外地办公室确保在国家经营的生活安排中的个人加入了联邦医疗保险B部分。

医疗保险B部分注册期

对于没有自动注册的个人,有三个不同的注册期,每个注册期都有各自的规则。  

初始注册期

A部分和B部分的初始注册期为7个月,包括个人年满65岁的月份加上之前和之后的3个月。

一般注册期

一般注册期为每年1月1日至3月31日,保险从7月1日开始。如果一个人在最初的注册期间没有注册A部分和B部分,可能会有更高的保费。

特别注册期

特别注册期适用于那些因受雇于团体健康计划或通过其父母或配偶的就业而等待注册B部分的个人。在这个特别注册期,个人可以在团体健康计划覆盖的任何时候注册B部分,或者在就业或团体健康计划覆盖结束后的一个月开始的8个月期间(以先到者为准)注册。通常情况下,在特别注册期内注册不会有延迟注册的处罚。

B部分逾期注册的处罚

逾期注册的惩罚可以使个人的月度保费在个人可以拥有B部分但没有注册的每12个月期间增加10%。如果一个人因为肌萎缩性脊髓侧索硬化症(ALS)或终末期肾病(ESRD)而符合条件,则没有等待期。有关逾期参保罚款的信息可以在以下网站找到: https://www.medicare.gov/your-medicare-costs/part-b-costs/part-b-late-enrollment-penalty

医疗保险C部分 - 医疗保险优势计划

医疗保险C部分 - 医疗保险优势计划

联邦医疗保险优势计划是由联邦医疗保险批准的私人保险公司,可以为人们提供更多的选择,有时还提供额外的福利。有四种类型的联邦医疗保险优势计划。

  • 医疗保险健康维护组织(HMO)计划
  • 医疗保险首选供应商组织计划(PPO)
  • 医疗保险私人收费服务计划(MFFS)
  • 特殊需求计划(SNP)

这些计划根据与联邦医疗保险的合同提供护理。所有联邦医疗保险优势计划必须至少涵盖联邦医疗保险A部分和B部分所涵盖的相同服务。此外,这些计划必须通过联邦医疗保险D部分联邦医疗保险优势处方计划提供处方药。一些计划还可能提供超出联邦医疗保险计划规定的最低限度的额外保险。

聯邦醫療保險受益人的C部分保險費用可能與他們的聯邦醫療保險A部分和B部分的費用不同,可能需要每月支付保費(除了每月的B部分保費之外)。

联邦医疗保险和医疗补助服务中心(CMS)的网站 www.medicare.gov, 提供有关联邦医疗保险优势计划的信息。可以用个人的邮政编码来搜索这些计划。关于选择计划的信息也可以在这个网站上找到。

大多数符合OPWDD条件的人由于每月的保费而选择不参加Medicare C部分计划。

联邦医疗保险D部分--联邦医疗保险处方药保险

联邦医疗保险D部分是提供给医疗保险受益人的。这项保险帮助符合医疗保险条件的人支付处方药费用。虽然它主要是为了通过联邦医疗保险计划为老年人提供可负担得起的处方药保险,但所有拥有联邦医疗保险的人,无论年龄大小,都有资格享受这一福利。

医疗保险D部分--处方药保险

医疗保险D部分的资格

对大多数联邦医疗保险受益人来说,参加联邦医疗保险D部分是自愿的,但对同时领取联邦医疗保险和医疗补助金的人来说是强制性的。同時領取聯邦醫療保險和醫療補助福利的人被稱為「雙重資格」。 OPWDD所服务的大多数人都是双重资格者,因此必须参加Medicare D部分。双重资格者通过Medicare而不是通过Medicaid计划获得处方药保险。聯邦醫療保險D部分取代了聯邦醫療保險,成為雙合資格參加者的藥房保險。有关双重资格的信息可以在CMS网站上找到: www.cms.gov 。 在该网站上有一本有用的小册子 " 医疗保险和医疗补助下的双重资格受益人 " ,提供与双重资格受益人有关的信息和有用的资源链接。

對於住在 OPWDD 認證或經營的住所的人,有關聯邦醫療保險 D 部分的額外指引。可以聯絡 OPWDD 的地區辦事處,他們應該有任何 OPWDD 特別表格的最新資料,以便為某人加入聯邦醫療保險 D 部分,以及如何/何時改變計劃。一般覆盖区的联系信息可在OPWDD的公共网站上找到: https://opwdd.ny.gov/contact-us

医疗保险D部分基准计划

基准计划是指符合所有最低的联邦医疗保险D部分保险和费用标准的计划。當聯邦醫療保險D部分開始實施時,雙合資格受益人自動加入 "基準 "處方藥計劃,而他們的聯邦醫療保險停止支付其處方藥。聯邦醫療保險通過個別藥物計劃,通知雙合資格受益人他們自動加入的計劃。新的双重资格受益人现在自动加入了基准计划,而且是持续的。 纽约州的基准计划清单可在纽约州老龄化办公室的网站上找到:

https://aging.ny.gov/programs/medicare-and-health-insurance

如何确定和识别D部分的注册情况

要了解一个人的注册情况,需要以下信息。

  • 此人的医疗保障受益人识别码
  • 该人的姓氏
  • 该人的出生日期
  • 该人的医疗保险A部分或B部分保险的生效日期

该人的邮编或该人的代表受款人的邮编

目前的注册信息可以在Medicare网站上查询: https://www.medicare.gov/ 或者参考CMS发给注册者的包含注册信息的信件。

医疗保险D部分--如果药房不填补处方,该怎么办?

如果药房不配药,当事人或其辩护人应先与D部分计划联系。 有关如何联系该计划和提出上诉的信息可在以下网站找到: www.medicare.gov

个人或其授权代表有权从他们的联邦医疗保险处方药计划获得书面解释,如果处方药的请求被拒绝。 更多信息请见: https:// https://www.medicare.gov/claims-appeals/file-an-appeal/medicare-prescription-drug-coverage-appeals

关于医疗保险D部分的法规和指南,有一本手册 " 《医疗保险处方药福利手册》 " 可在 www.CMS.gov

纽约州卫生部的网站上也有一些有用的信息,在一个名为 "Medicare Part D常见问题 "的栏目中,可以找到: https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/program/medicaid_transition/faq.htm

医疗保险储蓄计划(MSP)

一些收入有限的聯邦醫療保險受益人可能有資格獲得協助支付他們的聯邦醫療保險保費。聯邦醫療保險儲蓄計劃(MSP)是一個由聯邦醫療保險管理的計劃﹐可以幫助收入有限的人支付他們的聯邦醫療保險保費。根据个人的收入情况,MSP也可以支付其他费用分担的费用。社会保障局公布了有关医疗储蓄计划的手册,网址是: https://www.medicare.gov/Pubs/pdf/10126-Getting-Help-With-Your-Medicare-Costs.pdf

纽约州为一些符合Medicare B部分资格的人支付每月的保险费。这些人包括参加了联邦医疗保险的SSI受益人、合格的联邦医疗保险受益人,以及某些领取社会安全残疾福利(包括残疾成人子女福利)的SSA受益人。 

美国政府关于医疗保险的官方网站是: https://www.medicare.gov/index.php/

终身储备天数

终身储备天数适用于参加联邦医疗保险A部分和/或B部分的个人,是受益人住院超过90天时联邦医疗保险将支付的额外天数。每个受益人在其一生中可以使用60个储备日。对于每个终生储备日,联邦医疗保险支付所有承保费用,但每日共同保险金额除外。如果一个人选择不使用他们的终生储备天数,他们将负责支付所有没有被联邦医疗保险报销的医院费用。 有关终身保留日的信息可在以下网站找到: CMS.gov

 

关于 长期护理医院服务 专业护理机构护理 可在 www.medicare.gov

医疗保险和旅行

个人的Medicare保险可用于在美国任何地方的医疗服务。一般来说,Medicare不包括在美国境外接受的医疗服务。"美国境外 "是指不属于美国50个州、哥伦比亚特区或美国联邦/领地的任何地方。

CMS出版了一本小册子 "美国以外的医疗保险"(出版物11037),其中提供了关于医疗保险何时支付的细节。这本小册子可以在Medicare网站上找到: www.medicare.gov/publications/pubs/pdf/11037.pdf。

如果住在 OPWDD 运营或认证的住所的人不在纽约,需要医疗服务,应向服务提供者出示个人的医疗保险卡。除非医疗服务提供者是纽约州医疗补助计划的注册提供者或愿意注册,否则个人的寄宿机构负责支付任何不属于医疗补助计划的费用。

Benefit Development Resource Toolkit: Medicare

Overview

Throughout the following section, links to various web pages are provided for reference.   Please note that web page addresses change frequently and while the addresses  provided were accurate as of the issuance of this Toolkit, if you are unable to access any of the web pages through the links, please refer to the main Medicare website at www.medicare.gov and navigate to the information you are seeking.

Definition

Medicare is health insurance for people age 65 or older, under 65 with certain disabilities, and any age with end-stage renal disease. Medicare was established to provide hospital and medical insurance protection to people who might not otherwise be able to afford health insurance. Medicare is designed to protect aged and disabled persons against the expenses of illnesses that could otherwise exhaust their savings. Eligibility for Medicare begins after a 24-month waiting period when a disabled individual becomes eligible to collect Social Security benefits. Medicare is administered by the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS).

 

The Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) publishes a handbook, Medicare & You, which provides information about the services covered under Medicare Parts A, B, C and D. A copy of this handbook is available by calling 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227) and at www.medicare.gov.

The Social Security Administration also publishes a Medicare brochure that shares information on eligibility, the four components (Medicare A, B, C, and D), how to apply for benefits and information on various Medicare Savings Programs.  This publication can be found at  https://www.ssa.gov/pubs/EN-05-10043.pdf.  Application information for the Medicare Savings Programs can be found at:  https://www.ssa.gov/benefits/medicare/prescriptionhelp/cms.html

Eligibility

A person is eligible for Medicare if they have worked for at least 10 years in Medicare-covered employment, is at least 65 years old, and is a citizen or lawfully present in the U.S. Citizens and residents lawfully present in the United States who are younger than 65 years of age may qualify for coverage if they have certain disabilities or have end-stage renal disease (permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or transplant).

For individuals served by OPWDD, eligibility for Medicare is usually based on a parent’s work record. (This is when the parent begins receiving Social Security Disability or Retirement benefits or when the parent dies - the individual is eligible for Adult Disabled Child (DAC) benefits.) Once the individual has received 24 months of DAC benefits, the person will then be eligible for Medicare.

Four Components of Medicare

An individual may be eligible for different Medicare components depending on their situations and preferences. OPWDD eligible individuals usually use the following four components.

Medicare Part A – Hospital insurance

Medicare Part B – Medical insurance

Medicare Part C – Medicare Advantage Plans

Medicare Part D – Prescription drug coverage

Medicare Part A – Hospital Insurance

Medicare Part A, the hospital insurance component of Medicare, helps pay for care in hospitals and skilled nursing facilities, hospice services, and some home health care.

 

Most people do not pay a monthly premium for Part A because the coverage is based on a work record where Medicare taxes have already been paid.

 

A person who did not pay Medicare taxes while working but is age 65 or older may be able to buy Part A coverage. New York State may pay the Medicare Part A premium for New York State residents who receive Supplemental Security Income and are not entitled to premium-free Part A due to insufficient work history. More information about Part A coverage can be found at: Medicare Part A

Medicare Part A Enrollment Process

An individual who receives Social Security retirement or Railroad Retirement benefits (RRB) is automatically enrolled in Medicare Part A on the first day of the month of their 65th birthday. An individual receiving Social Security disability or RRB disability benefits is automatically enrolled in Medicare Part A after receiving disability benefits for 24 months; benefits start on the 25th month. About three months before the person becomes eligible for Medicare, they will receive information about Medicare.

If an individual is not receiving Social Security or RRB benefits before their 65th birthday, they will need to apply for Medicare Part A in order to obtain coverage.

Certain aged people who do not qualify for Medicare Part A (hospital insurance) under the requirements stated above may be eligible by paying a monthly premium. If a person chooses to purchase Part A coverage, they must also enroll in Part B (medical insurance).

To enroll in Medicare Part A, the individual or representative should call the Social Security Administration at 1-800-772-1213. If the individual was a railroad employee or receives benefits from the Railroad Retirement Board, they should call either the local RRB office or 1-800-772-5772, or visit How to Get Part A to get information for enrollment.

Medicare Part B – Medical Insurance

Medicare Part B (Medical Insurance) helps cover medically necessary doctors’ services, outpatient care, home health services, durable medical equipment, mental health services, and other medical services. Part B also covers many preventive services. More information can be found at Medicare Part B.

Medicare Part B Eligibility

A person is eligible for Medicare Part B if they are entitled to premium-free Medicare Part A or are age 65 or older, a U.S. citizen or person lawfully present in the U.S.  Non- citizens lawfully admitted for permanent residence, who have resided in the U.S. for five continuous years immediately prior to the month of enrollment, are also eligible.

There is a monthly premium for Medicare Part B. The amount of the premium usually changes each January at the time of the Social Security Cost of Living Adjustment. In some cases, an individual’s premium amount may be higher if the individual did not choose to enroll in Part B when they first became eligible.

Medicare Part B Enrollment Process

A person who receives Social Security retirement or Railroad Retirement benefits is automatically enrolled in Medicare Part B on the first day of the month of their 65th birthday.

A disabled person under 65 who has received Social Security disability or Railroad Retirement disability benefits for 24 months will be automatically enrolled as of the 25th month of disability entitlement. About three months before the person becomes eligible for Medicare, they will receive information about how to turn down Medicare Part B coverage, if they wish to do so. For individuals residing in certified settings, the representative payee is responsible to ensure enrollment in Medicare Part B. Care Managers will assist individuals who do not have a representative payee and may provide assistance to the payee. The Revenue Support Field Office ensures that an individual in a state-operated living arrangement is enrolled in Medicare Part B.

Medicare Part B Enrollment Periods

There are three different enrollment periods for individuals who are not automatically enrolled, each with their own rules.  

Initial Enrollment Period

The initial enrollment period for Parts A and B is a seven-month period, which consists of the month the individual turns 65 plus three months before and three months after.

General Enrollment Period

The general enrollment period runs from January 1st to March 31st every year, with coverage beginning on July 1st. If an individual did not already sign up for Parts A and B during the initial enrollment period, there may be higher premiums.

Special Enrollment Period

The special enrollment period applies to individuals who wait to sign up for Part B because of a group health plan coverage based on employment or through their parent’s or spouse’s employment. During this special enrollment period, an individual can sign up for Part B anytime while covered by the group health plan or during an 8- month period that begins the month after employment or the group health plan coverage ends, whichever is first. Usually, there is no late enrollment penalty when signing up during a special enrollment period.

Part B Late Enrollment Penalties

Late enrollment penalties can increase an individual’s monthly premium by 10% for each 12-month period that the individual could have had Part B but did not sign up for it. There is no waiting period if an individual is eligible due to Amyotrophic Lateral sclerosis (ALS) or End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD). Information regarding Late Enrollment Penalties can be found at:  https://www.medicare.gov/your-medicare-costs/part-b-costs/part-b-late-enrollment-penalty.

Medicare Part C – Medicare Advantage Plans

Medicare Part C – Medicare Advantage Plans

Medicare Advantage plans are private insurance companies approved by Medicare that can provide people with more choices and sometimes, extra benefits. There are four types of Medicare Advantage plans:

  • Medicare Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) Plans
  • Medicare Preferred Provider Organization Plans (PPO)
  • Medicare Private Fee-for-Service Plans (MFFS)
  • Special Needs Plans (SNP)

These plans provide care under contract to Medicare. All Medicare Advantage Plans must cover at least the same services covered by Medicare Part A and Part B. In addition, the plans must offer prescription drugs through the Medicare Part D Medicare Advantage prescription plans. Some plans may also offer additional coverage beyond the prescribed minimum set by the Medicare program.

The Medicare beneficiary’s costs for Part C coverage may be different from their costs for Medicare Parts A and B and may involve paying a monthly premium (in addition to the monthly Part B premium).

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ (CMS) website, www.medicare.gov, provides information about Medicare Advantage Plans. A search for these plans can be done using the individual’s zip code. Information about selecting a plan can also be found on this website.

Most OPWDD eligible individuals elect not to enroll in Medicare Part C plans due to the monthly premium.

Medicare Part D – Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage

Medicare Part D is available to Medicare beneficiaries. This coverage helps Medicare eligible people pay prescription drug costs. Although it is primarily designed to provide the elderly with affordable prescription drug coverage through the Medicare program, all people who have Medicare coverage, regardless of age, are eligible for the benefit

Medicare Part D – Prescription Drug Coverage

Medicare Part D Eligibility

Participation in Medicare Part D is voluntary for most Medicare beneficiaries, but is mandatory for people who receive both Medicare and Medicaid benefits. People who receive both Medicare and Medicaid benefits are referred to as “Dual Eligible”.  The majority of the individuals served by OPWDD are Dual Eligible and are therefore required to participate in Medicare Part D.  Dual eligibles receive their prescription drug coverage through Medicare rather than through the Medicaid program. Medicare Part D replaces Medicaid as the pharmacy coverage for Dual Eligible enrollees. Information regarding Dual Eligibility can be found on the CMS website at: www.cms.gov. Within that website there is a helpful booklet “Dual Eligible Beneficiaries Under Medicare and Medicaid” that provides information and helpful resource links pertaining to Dual Eligible beneficiaries.

For people who live in residences certified or operated by OPWDD, there are additional guidelines on Medicare Part D.  Information can be found by reaching out to OPWDD’s Regional Offices who should have the latest information on any special OPWDD forms needed in order to enroll someone in Medicare Part D, as well as, how/when to change plans. General catchment area contact information can be found on OPWDD’s Public Website at:  https://opwdd.ny.gov/contact-us

Medicare Part D Benchmark Plans

Benchmark plans are plans that meet all the minimum Medicare Part D standards for coverage and cost. When Medicare Part D became available, Dual Eligible beneficiaries were automatically enrolled in a “benchmark” prescription drug plan and their Medicaid stopped covering their prescription drugs. Medicare, through the individual drug plans, notified Dual Eligible beneficiaries of the plan in which they were automatically enrolled. New Dual Eligible beneficiaries are now automatically enrolled in benchmark plans on an ongoing basis.  A list of benchmark plans for NYS can be found on the NYS Office for the Aging website at www.aging.ny.gov or

https://aging.ny.gov/programs/medicare-and-health-insurance.  

How to Determine and Identify Part D Enrollment

To find out about a person’s enrollment, the following information is required:

  • The person’s Medicare Beneficiary Identifier
  • The person’s last name
  • The person’s date of birth
  • The effective date of the person’s Medicare Part A or Part B coverage

The person’s zip code or the person’s representative payee’s zip code

Current enrollment information can be accessed at the Medicare website at: https://www.medicare.gov/ or refer to the letter sent to the enrollee by CMS containing enrollment information.

Medicare Part D - What to do if the Pharmacy will not Fill a Prescription

If the pharmacy will not fill a prescription, the person or their advocate should reach out to the Part D Plan first.  Information on how to contact the Plan and file an appeal can be found at www.medicare.gov at: https://www.medicare.gov/claims-appeals/how-do-i-file-an-appeal.

An individual or their authorized representative has the right to receive a written explanation from their Medicare Prescription Drug Plan, if a request for a prescription drug is denied.  More information can be found at: https://https://www.medicare.gov/claims-appeals/file-an-appeal/medicare-prescription-drug-coverage-appeals.

For Regulations and Guidance on Medicare Part D, there is a manual “Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit Manual” available at www.CMS.gov

NYS Department of Health also has helpful information on their website under a section called “Medicare Part D Frequently Asked Questions” that can be located at:  https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/program/medicaid_transition/faq.htm

Medicare Savings Program (MSP)

Some Medicare beneficiaries with limited income may be eligible for help paying for their Medicare premiums. The Medicare Savings Program (MSP) is a Medicaid-administered program that can assist individuals with limited income in paying for their Medicare premiums. Depending on the individual’s income, the MSP may also pay for other cost-sharing expenses. The Social Security Administration publishes a brochure regarding the Medicare Savings Program at: https://www.medicare.gov/Pubs/pdf/10126-Getting-Help-With-Your-Medicare-Costs.pdf

New York State pays the monthly premium for some Medicare Part B eligible people. These individuals include SSI recipients who are enrolled in Medicare, Qualified Medicare beneficiaries, and certain SSA beneficiaries who receive Social Security disability benefits including Disabled Adult Child benefits. 

The official U.S. Government Site for Medicare is at:  https://www.medicare.gov/index.php/.

Lifetime Reserve Days

Lifetime Reserve Days apply to individuals enrolled in Medicare Part A and/or Part B and are additional days that Medicare will pay for when a beneficiary is in a hospital for more than 90 days. Each beneficiary has 60 reserve days that can be used during their lifetime. For each lifetime reserve day, Medicare pays all covered costs except for a daily co-insurance amount. If an individual chooses not to use their lifetime reserve days, they will be responsible for all the hospital’s charges not reimbursed by Medicare.  Information on Lifetime Reserve Days can be found at CMS.gov.

 

Information on Long-term care hospital services and Skilled nursing facility care can be found at www.medicare.gov

Medicare and Travel

An individual’s Medicare coverage is available for medical treatment anywhere in the United States. Generally, Medicare does not cover medical services received outside the United States. “Outside the United States” is anywhere that is not one of the 50 states, District of Columbia, or U.S. commonwealth/territories.

CMS publishes a pamphlet, “Medicare Coverage Outside the U.S.”, (Publication 11037) which provides details about when Medicare will pay. This pamphlet can be found on the Medicare website:  www.medicare.gov/publications/pubs/pdf/11037.pdf.

If a person living in an OPWDD operated or certified residence is out of New York and requires medical services, the individual’s Medicare card should be presented to the provider of the services. The individual’s residential agency is responsible for paying any cost not covered by Medicare unless the medical provider is a New York State Medicaid enrolled provider or is willing to enroll.