放学后的生活

从学校生活到成年的过渡是年轻人生活的转折点。这对于有发育障碍的青少年来说并没有什么不同。

从学校过渡到成年生活可以导致继续教育、找到工作或参加其他有意义的活动,例如志愿服务和工作或生活技能发展。

这需要提前规划,OPWDD与 New York State 教育部,当地学区和特殊教育工作人员合作,帮助学生从学校过渡,并帮助规划成年生活所需的支持。

关于过渡计划的事实

学校是连接学生与未来的桥梁。 

过渡规划是学校用来帮助残疾学生及其家人规划高中毕业后生活的过程。 

对学生来说,这个过程越早开始越好,学校需要告知学生和家庭该过程并帮助他们完成这个过程。

学校需要知道的一些事实:

  • 学校可以帮助学生/家庭在学生年满15岁之前与OPWDD工作人员一起启动学校过渡,学生的目标将在他们的个人教育计划(IEP)中确定。
  • 对 OPWDD 成人支持感兴趣的学生应在完成教育计划前至少三年开始与 OPWDD 合作。
  • 为了能够一起工作,学校需要获得学生家人签署的同意书,以便与 OWPDD 共享记录或告知 OPWDD 可能有资格获得 OPWDD 服务的学生
  • 有兴趣允许学校和 OPWDD 共享信息的家长或监护人必须填写同意发布信息表(见下文)。

同意书

其他学校过渡信息

合格

要了解有关 OPWDD 服务资格的更多信息,请访问本网站的资格部分。

学校过渡工具包

作为学校管理员,您可以利用 OPWDD 的学校过渡工具包,其中包括供您与准备从学校生活过渡到成年生活的学生分享的重要材料。请联系您所在地区 OPWDD 发育障碍地区办公室的当地学校过渡协调员,以获得一份。

其他资源

纽约州特殊教育工作组

https://www.nyspecialedtaskforce.org/ - 该工作组为家长、倡导者、律师、学校工作人员、服务提供者和残障人士提供了一个论坛,以讨论影响残障学生的问题、政策、法律法规的拟议变更。该网站包括一个普通语言的特殊教育指南。

成人职业和继续教育服务-职业康复(ACCES-VR)  

http://www.acces.nysed.gov//vr/student-and-youth-transition-services - 纽约州教育部的 ACCES-VR 提供服务,以帮助确保所有残疾青年为就业、高等教育做好准备离开学校后的教育和社区生活。 ACCES-VR 可以提供一系列服务来帮助符合条件的人实现就业目标。 

过渡源 

https://www.msnavigator.org/resources/resource_details?ID=252&type=resource - 本网站面向 New York State的家长、专业人士和其他人,提供过渡信息,旨在帮助提高残疾学生的毕业后成绩。

个性化教育计划 (IEP) 学生的过渡规划 

https://www.greatschools.org/gk/articles/transition-planning-for-students-with-ieps/ -本文讨论了过渡计划的重要性,并概述了拥有IEP的学生在此过程中的一些步骤。

NYSCQC(护理质量委员会)残疾和法律:从学校过渡到工作系列  

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL8AA002F1C4A00044 -这个由三部分组成的视频系列 《残疾与法律》通过对律师、 管理人员、过渡协调员、教师、家长、残疾学生和雇主的内容丰富的采访,探讨了让残疾年轻人为进入工作世界做好准备的重要性。 其目的是教育和告知观众有关残疾人合法权利的信息。

十西格玛 

https://tensigma.org/https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdOpGZeKcRIcrAynafjtFwQ - 这些指向十标准差网站的链接以及该组织制作的各种视频,旨在为教师和学校提供实用工具教学、评估和更好地确保学生成功过渡。

低收入和固定收入家庭互联网计划指南

https://www.inmyarea.com/resources/guide-internet-low-income-customers -这涵盖了为符合条件的人提供的经济援助和互联网服务计划的完整清单。

School Transition for Students with Developmental Disabilities
SHARE

Life After School

The transition from school life to adulthood is a turning point in a young person's life. This is no different for a teenager with developmental disabilities.

Moving from school to adult life can lead to continuing education, getting a job or taking part in other meaningful activities, such as volunteering and job or life-skills development.

This takes advance planning and OPWDD is working with the New York State Education Department, local school districts and special education staff to assist students to transition from school and to help plan for the supports that will be needed in adult life.

Facts About Transition Planning

Schools are the bridge that connects students to their futures. 

Transition planning is the process schools use to help students with disabilities and their families as they plan for their lives after high school. 

The sooner the process begins for the student, the better, and schools need to inform students and families about that process and help them navigate through it.

Some facts that schools need to know:

  • Schools can help students/families initiate school transitioning with OPWDD staff before the student is 15 years old, with the student's goals identified on his/her Individual Educational Program (IEP).
  • Students interested in OPWDD adult supports should begin working with OPWDD at least three years prior to completing their educational program.
  • To be able to work together, schools need to get signed consent forms from the student's family in order to share records with OWPDD or to tell OPWDD about students who may be eligible for OPWDD services
  • Parents or guardians interested in allowing the school and OPWDD to share information must fill out a Consent to Release Information form (found below).

School Transition Forms Translations

If you require these documents in a language other than those listed below, please contact OPWDD's Statewide Language Access Coordinator at 1-866-946-9733.
 

Parent/Guardian Letters

 

 

Consent Forms

Other School Transition Information

Eligibility

To learn more about eligibility for OPWDD services, go to the Eligibility section of this website.

School Transition Toolkit

As a school administrator, you can take advantage of OPWDD's School Transition Kit which includes important materials for you to share with students who are preparing to move from school life to adult life. Contact the local school transition coordinator at the OPWDD Developmental Disabilities Regional Office in your area to get one.

Additional Resources

NYS Special Education Task Force

https://www.nyspecialedtaskforce.org/ - This task force provides a forum for parents, advocates, attorneys, school personnel, service providers and people with disabilities to discuss issues, policies, proposed changes to law and regulations impacting students with disabilities. The website includes a Special Education in Plain Language guide.

 

NYS Special Education Technical Assistance Resources 

http://www.p12.nysed.gov/specialed/techassist/ - This website lists technical assistance and professional development resources available from the New York State Education Department (NYSED) Office of Special Education for school districts, parents and others interested in the education of students with disabilities.

 

Adult Career and Continuing Education Services-Vocational Rehabilitation (ACCES-VR)  

http://www.acces.nysed.gov//vr/student-and-youth-transition-services - The NYS Education Department's ACCES-VR provides services to help ensure that all youth with disabilities are prepared for employment, post-secondary education and community living when they leave school. ACCES-VR can provide a range of services to help eligible people reach employment goals. 

 

Transition Source 

https://transitionsource.org/ - This website, for parents, professionals and others in New York State, provides transition information that is intended to help advance the post-school outcomes of students with disabilities.

 

Transition Planning for Students with Individualized Education Programs (IEPs) 

https://www.greatschools.org/gk/articles/transition-planning-for-students-with-ieps/ - This article discusses the importance of transition planning and outlines some of the steps in the process for student's with IEPs.

 

NYSCQC (Commission on Quality of Care) Disability and Law: Transitioning from School to Work Series  

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL8AA002F1C4A00044 - This three-part video series, Disability and the Law, explores the importance of preparing young adults with disabilities for the world of work through informative interviews with attorneys, administrators, transition coordinators, teachers, parents, students with disabilities and employers.  It's aim is to educate and inform viewers about the legal rights of individuals with disabilities.

Ten Sigma 

https://tensigma.org/ and https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdOpGZeKcRIcrAynafjtFwQ - These links to Ten Sigma's website and an assortment of videos the organization has produced, are designed to provide teachers and schools with practical tools to teach, assess and better ensure student success with transition.