Office for People With Developmental Disabilities

Print: Print this page

Department of Developmental Neurobiology


Jerzy Wegiel, VMD, PhD, Chairperson

[email protected]

The Department of Developmental Neurobiology consists of nine laboratories with seven research divisions: pediatric neuropathology, neurodevelopmental pathology, electrophysiology, psychobiology, immunology, cellular and subcellular pathology, and placental modulation. The research focuses on the following priority areas: autism spectrum disorders, Down syndrome, developmental neurodegenerative disorders, epilepsy in neurodevelopmental disorders, and the contribution of placental pathology to altered neurodevelopment. The major research targets are the etiology, mechanisms, diagnostic biomarkers, prevention and treatment of autism, Down syndrome, and neurodegenerative disorders.