Office for People With Developmental Disabilities

Print: Print this page



Medicare is a federal health insurance program that provides coverage for people 65 or older; people under 65 with certain disabilities who have receive Social Security or Railroad Retirement Disability benefits for more than 24 months and people of any age with End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) (permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or a kidney transplant).  Detailed information for Medicare may be found on the website.

Medicare has four parts:

  • Medicare Part A – Hospital Insurance
  • Medicare Part B – Medical Insurance
  • Medicare Part C (also known as Medicare Advantage); and
  • Medicare Part D – Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage

 Medicare Fact sheets