The backbone of service delivery

As a Direct Support Professional, you are the backbone of the service delivery system. With more than 110,000 Direct Support Professionals statewide, you are one of a group of dedicated people who are in the field every day helping people with developmental disabilities to live independent, productive lives. You not only provide assistance with someone's day-to-day needs; you serve as a role model, teacher, mentor and friend.


Code of Ethics

New York’s direct support professionals now have a professional code to guide and maintain high standards for the life-changing work you do each day.

You likely already have a personal set of values—or ethical code—that guides your life. The Code of Ethics from the National Alliance of Direct Support Professionals goes beyond personal values; defining the standards that guide our delivery of services and supports.

The NADSP Code of Ethics outlines standards of conduct and professionalism in nine areas:

  • Person-Centered Supports
  • Promoting Physical and Emotional Well-Being
  • Integrity and Responsibility
  • Confidentiality
  • Justice, Fairness and Equity
  • Respect
  • Relationships
  • Self-Determination
  • Advocacy

DSP Core Competencies

You are the “core” of New York’s system of supports for people with developmental disabilities. Your job requires technical and values-based skills that make life-changing differences in the lives of the people you support. 

The DSP Core Competencies adopted by the NYS Talent Development Consortium apply to all Direct Support Professionals across the state, working at state-operated and voluntary programs.  Coupled with the Code of Ethics for Direct Support Professionals, these values-based competencies and skills are the foundation of person-centered supports for New Yorkers with developmental disabilities. 

These competencies provide a level of consistency and quality throughout New York State’s system.  

FLS Core Competencies

The New York State (NYS) Frontline Supervisor (FLS) Core Competencies include 11 competency areas and 81 tailored individual skills, aligned to the competency areas. The order of  competency areas are: 1) Staff Supervision, Training, Development, and Retention; 2) Promoting Professional Relationships, Teamwork, and Communication; 3) Staff Recruitment, Selection, and Hiring; 4) Leadership, Professionalism and Personal Development; 5) Direct Support; 6) Health, Wellness and Safety; 7) Individual Support Plan Development, Monitoring, and Assessment; 8) Facilitating Community Inclusion Across the Lifespan; 9) Service Management and Quality Improvement; 10) Cultural Awareness and Responsiveness; 11) Advocacy and Public Relations. 

Learn more on our Core Competencies page.

Regional Centers for Workforce Transformation

The Regional Centers for Workforce Transformation (RCWT) are regional collaborations between service providers, Direct Support Professionals, people who receive services and other stakeholders in the field of developmental disabilities.  The Regional Centers for Workforce Transformation are coordinated by the New York Alliance for Inclusion & Innovation through funding provided by OPWDD.

The Regional Centers for Workforce Transformation work with provider agencies in the implementation of the National Alliance for Direct Support Professionals (NADSP) Code of Ethics, the New York State Core Competencies, and Direct Support Professional Performance Evaluations, all of which guide the professional growth of New York State’s Direct Support Professionals.

Visit the Regional Centers for Workforce Transformation for important training opportunities, a resource library and information about regional meetings and workshops so you and your staff can stay connected and up-to-date on common issues.