概述

OPWDD 与人类服务部门、劳工和教育系统的机构合作,制定战略和最佳实践,以支持发育性残疾领域有能力和稳定的劳动力。通过这些合作伙伴关系,我们收集了有用的信息来帮助您进行招聘和保留。 

与纽约州劳工部合作

发布职位
 

纽约州就业银行

组织可以免费通过纽约州工作银行/JobsExpress发布工作。作为提供商机构,您可以通过两种方式发布信息。

一种方法称为索引。这是您注册的自动提要,可将工作从您的职业网站直接拉到纽约州劳工部 (DOL) 的网站。

另一种选择是让劳工部工作人员为您发布职位空缺。您所要做的就是提供职位描述,包括所需的技能和能力,员工可以发布职位,找到可能的最佳匹配。 

每月有超过 40,000 名求职者访问纽约州就业银行,这意味着招聘信息会获得大量曝光。

使用劳工招聘服务部的企业每年最多可节省 8,000 美元。

 

纽约人才/工作区 - 技能匹配服务 

NY Talent是一种替代自助服务工具,可帮助组织为其职位空缺找到最合格的候选人。它提供了一个职位发布开发工具,企业可以轻松地创建强大的职位描述。 NY Talent还允许企业搜索大型简历数据库。 NY Talent是 JobZone 的姊妹工具, JobZone是求职者用来建立简历和匹配职位空缺的系统。这两种工具都使用人工智能技术来分析工作订单和简历。

 

招聘会

参加招聘会、小型招聘会或定制招聘是另一种寻找合格工人的好方法。这些免费活动提供了一个组织可以与多个候选人面对面的环境。劳工部可以针对特定行业或个体企业开展活动,在劳工部设施或进行招聘的企业所在地举办活动。 

劳工部职业中心举办招聘活动每年可为企业节省高达 15,000 美元。  

人力资源咨询

劳工部职业分析师可以免费帮助组织提供各种人力资源服务,每年为他们节省数千美元。劳工部服务包括:

  • 工作分析- 审查工作的具体要求和执行的工作以制定详细的工作描述。
  • 技能差距分析- 识别和比较个人的知识、技能和能力与工作要求,以确定可转移的技能和培训需求。
  • 员工手册- 帮助为员工开发新指南或查看现有版本。
  • 法律合规- 参考劳动法信息资源。
  • 就业申请- 审查当前的申请或帮助开发新的申请,以确保遵守平等机会就业法。
  • 面试技巧- 帮助您从面试中获得所需的信息。
  • 员工导向- 为新员工制定一致的标准,以帮助他们了解您的业务和他们的工作。
  • 离职分析- 帮助确定员工离职的原因,并建议采取措施减少招聘新员工的耗时且成本高昂的过程。

网站: https://labor.ny.gov/businessservices/services/servicesindex.shtm

联邦债券计划

联邦债券计划(FBP) 的创建是为了鼓励有就业挑战的求职者。联邦债券计划为雇用难以安置的求职者的企业提供六个月的免费忠诚债券。纽约州所有职业中心都向企业和求职者宣传联邦联结计划的好处。有关联邦债券计划的更多信息,请通过[email protected]联系中央办公室债券工作人员,或在其网站上列出的任何当地债券协调员。 

裁员厌恶和共享工作

裁员厌恶

Rapid Response 是 NYS DOL 为受裁员和工厂关闭影响的企业和工人提供的一项服务。他们提供早期就业帮助和其他服务资源。 

共享工作

劳工部区域团队通过共享工作计划在临时业务低迷时期帮助保护您的员工。共享工作为解雇员工提供了另一种选择。它可以让您留住训练有素的员工并掌握关键技能。根据该计划,您的企业可以:

  • 减少特定单位、班次或所有员工的正常工作时间;
  • 在计划中包括全职和兼职员工;
  • 申请至少有两名员工的计划;
  • 同意继续维持附加福利水平,除非您必须为整个员工队伍降低这些水平;
  • 用部分失业保险 (UI) 福利(最长 26 周)补充损失的工资;和,
  • 要求共享工作参与者按照他们的正常工作时间表继续为您工作。

 

与退伍军人服务部合作

访问纽约州退伍军人服务部网站。

纽约州有当地退伍军人就业代表 (LVERs) 为您提供帮助。 LVER 提供的服务包括:

退伍军人与雇主的工作匹配和工作安置

进行雇主外展

通知联邦承包商雇用合格退伍军人的过程

供应商也可以建立合作伙伴关系,为在培训项目中工作的退伍军人提供额外的经济利益。

有关更多信息,请访问我们的成为 VA 认可雇主页面

专业发展资源

专业发展

纽约州立大学
纽约州立大学和纽约州发育障碍人士办公室 (OPWDD) 正在合作,为纽约州的服务提供者和潜在的直接支持候选人提供 SUNY For All 的免费在线职业和教育培训计划,其中包括一对一的成功通过自动注册任何纽约州立大学社区学院、纽约州立大学帝国州立学院、纽约州立大学坎顿分校或纽约州立大学德里分校,获得教练和大学教育的途径。

立即注册,参加 20 多个免费的短期在线课程,包括可转让的直接支持专业 (DSP) 沉浸式课程。通过本课程,学生将学习职业所需的技能,这些技能都是为了支持发育障碍人士过上充实的生活。学生还可以使用此培训来开展医疗保健、社会服务或人类服务行业的职业!

如需更多信息并注册该课程,请访问SUNY for All Direct Support Professional 课程页面

纽约州立大学帝国社区合作伙伴
纽约州立大学帝国州立学院提供教育解决方案,以满足社区组织的特定需求,并帮助员工和成员推进他们的教育和职业生涯。

员工、退休人员、家庭成员和从合作社区组织获得支持的人均可享受合作福利。对于有兴趣与 SUNY Empire 建立合作伙伴关系的组织,请访问社区合作伙伴页面

如果您有兴趣成为学生并且您的雇主或组织已经是合作伙伴,请联系纽约州立大学帝国分校以获取有关注册的信息。
 

纽约州立大学帝国自闭症中心
为了帮助满足对与自闭症患者一起工作和支持的专业人士日益增长的需求,自闭症包容性中心将制定学术计划,让专业人士为与自闭症患者一起工作做好准备,并为当前的专业人士提供职业道路来磨练和提升他们的技能。

此外,该中心将开展研究以支持劳动力并向专业人士、雇主、父母、社区组织和其他支持自闭症患者的人提供最新信息以及教育和培训。 

有关更多信息,请访问自闭症包容性中心页面.

 


 

学费资助和劳动力发展资金

学费资助

联邦教育援助计划

联邦政府已采取重大行动,向雇主提供临时和慷慨的税收优惠*,以支付员工的教育费用,纽约州立大学校园可以利用这些费用来支持:

  • 当前的纽约州立大学学生或校友。雇主可以支付高达 5,250 美元来偿还雇员学生贷款,免税,雇员和雇主可以全额扣除
    * CARES 法案第 2206 节修订了守则第 127 节,允许雇主支付雇员的全部或部分“合格教育贷款”作为免税福利,前提是该福利是作为雇主教育援助计划的一部分提供的。

纽约州学费资助计划和奖学金

纽约州学费援助计划 (TAP)

纽约州学费援助计划 (TAP) 帮助符合条件的纽约州居民在纽约州认可的学校支付学费。年度 TAP 奖励最高可达 5,665 美元。如需更多信息,请访问纽约州学费援助计划 (TAP) 页面

纽约州 Excelsior 奖学金计划 纽约州 Excelsior 奖学金计划与其他学生经济援助计划相结合,允许符合条件的学生免学费进入 SUNY 或 CUNY 大学。欲了解更多信息,请访问NYS Excelsior 奖学金计划页面

纽约州立大学教育机会计划 (EOP) 纽约州立大学教育机会计划 (EOP) 为符合条件的学生提供访问、学术支持和经济援助。有关更多信息,请访问SUNY 教育机会计划 (EOP) 页面

纽约州开始您的贷款减免计划

纽约州贷款减免计划为参与联邦收入驱动还款计划的符合条件的纽约州大学毕业生提供长达 24 个月的联邦学生贷款债务减免。如需更多信息,请访问NYS Get on Your Feet Loan Forgiveness Program 页面

纽约州梦想法案

参议员 José Peralta 纽约州梦想法案允许无证学生和其他学生获得纽约州管理的助学金和奖学金,例如支持高等教育费用的 Excelsior 奖学金和学费援助计划 (TAP)。如需更多信息,请访问纽约州梦想法案页面

纽约州高等教育服务公司军事和退伍军人福利

纽约州高等教育服务公司为军人、退伍军人及其家人提供额外的教育和经济援助福利。要查看福利计划列表,请访问NYS Higher Education Services Corporation 军事角页面

 

劳动力发展资金

劳动力发展倡议

州长库莫 劳动力发展倡议 (WDI) 正在为职业培训项目投资 1.75 亿美元。新的 WDI 综合资助申请 (CFA) 下的获奖项目将支持满足组织短期劳动力需求、长期行业需求的区域努力,改善区域人才管道,增强当地劳动力实体的灵活性和适应性,并扩大工作场所学习机会。

有关 WDI 流程和资格的更多信息,请访问劳动力发展倡议流程页面

Recruitment Resources
SHARE

Overview

OPWDD collaborates with agencies in the human service sector, labor, and educational system to develop strategies and best practices that support a competent and stable workforce in the developmental disabilities field. Through these partnerships, we have gathered useful information to assist you with recruitment and retention. 

Partner with New York State Department of Labor

Post Jobs
 

New York State Job Bank

Organizations can post jobs with the New York State Job Bank/JobsExpress at no cost.  There are two ways in which you, as a provider agency, can post.

One way is called indexing. This is an automatic feed that you sign-up for that pulls jobs right from your career site to the New York State Department of Labor's (DOL) site.

Another option is having Department of Labor staff post your job openings for you. All you have to do is provide a job description, including the skills and abilities desired, and staff can post the position, finding the best match possible. 

More than 40,000 job seekers visit the New York State Job Bank on a monthly basis, which means job postings get a lot of exposure.

A business using Department of Labor Recruitment Services can save up to $8,000 per year.

 

NY Talent / Job Zone – Skills Matching Services 

NY Talent is an alternative self-service tool that helps organizations find the most qualified candidates for their job openings. It offers a job posting development tool where a business can create robust job descriptions with ease. NY Talent also allows businesses the ability to search the large resume database. NY Talent is the sister tool to JobZone, which is the system that job seekers use to build resumes and match job openings. Both tools use artificial intelligence technology to analyze job orders and resumes.

 

Career Fairs

Participating in career fairs, mini job fairs, or customized recruitment is another great way to find qualified workers. These no-cost events offer a setting where an organization can meet several candidates face-to-face. The Department of Labor can target events to specific industries or to an individual business, holding events at Department of Labor facilities or at the location of the business doing the recruitment. 

Conducting recruitment events at Department of Labor Career Centers can save a business up to $15,000 a year.  

Human Resource Consultation

Department of Labor Occupational Analysts can help organizations with a variety of human resources services at no cost, saving them thousands of dollars each year. Department of Labor services include:

  • Job Analysis - Review the specific requirements of a job and the work performed to develop detailed job descriptions.
  • Skills Gap Analysis - Identify and compare the knowledge, skills, and abilities of individuals with the job requirements to identify transferable skills and training needs.
  • Employee Handbooks - Help develop a new guide for employees or review an existing version.
  • Legal Compliance - Referral to resources of information on labor laws.
  • Employment Applications - Review current applications or help develop new ones to ensure compliance with Equal Opportunity employment laws.
  • Interview Techniques - Help you get the information needed from interviews.
  • Employee Orientation - Develop consistent standards for new hires to help them learn about your business and their job.
  • Turnover Analysis - Help determine why workers leave their jobs and suggest steps to reduce the time-consuming and costly process of recruiting new employees.

Website: https://labor.ny.gov/businessservices/services/servicesindex.shtm

Federal Bonding Program

The Federal Bonding Program (FBP) was created as a hiring incentive for job seekers with employment challenges. The Federal Bonding Program provides no-cost fidelity bonding for six months to businesses that hire hard-to-place job seekers. The benefits of the Federal Bonding Program are promoted to businesses and job seekers at all New York State Career Centers. For more information about the Federal Bonding Program, contact Central Office bonding staff at [email protected], or any of the local bonding coordinators listed on their website. 

Layoff Aversion & Shared Work

Layoff Aversion

Rapid Response is a service offered by the NYS DOL to businesses and workers affected by cutbacks and site closings. They provide early job placement assistance and other service resources. 

Shared Work

The Department of Labor regional teams help protect your workers during temporary business downturns through the Shared Work Program. Shared work gives an alternative to laying off your employees. It lets you keep trained workers with key skill sets. Under this program, your business can:

  • Reduce the number of normal work hours for a particular unit, shift, or all staff;
  • Include full- and part-time employees in the plan;
  • Apply for a plan with a minimum of two employees;
  • Agree to continue fringe benefit levels, unless you must reduce them for your entire workforce;
  • Supplement lost pay with partial Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits (up to 26 weeks); and,
  • Require that the Shared Work participant remain available to work for you as in their normal work schedule.

 

Partner with the Division of Veterans' Services

Visit the NYS Division of Veterans' Services website.

NYS has Local Veterans Employment Representatives (LVERs) to assist you. LVERs provide services including:

Job matching and job placement for veterans with employers

Conducting employer outreach

Informing Federal contractors of the process to hire qualified veterans

Partnerships can also be developed by providers to offer additional financial benefits to Veterans who work in training programs.

For more information, visit our Become a VA Approved Employer page.

Professional Development Resources

Professional Development

SUNY For All
SUNY and the New York State Office for People With Developmental Disabilities (OPWDD) are collaborating to offer service providers and potential direct support candidates across NYS access to SUNY For All, a free online career and educational training program that includes one-on-one success coaches and a pathway to a college education through automatic enrollment in any SUNY Community College, SUNY Empire State College, SUNY Canton, or SUNY Delhi.

Enroll now, and tap into more than 20 short, free, online programs, including the transferrable Direct Support Professional (DSP) Immersion Course. Through this course, students learn the skills necessary for a career that’s all about supporting people with developmental disabilities to live fulfilling lives. Students can also use this training to launch careers in healthcare, social services, or human service professions!

For more information and to enroll in the course, visit the SUNY for All  Direct Support Professional course page.

SUNY Empire community partnerships
SUNY Empire State College provides educational solutions to address the specific needs of community organizations and to help employees and members advance their education and careers.

Partnership benefits are available to employees, retirees, family members and the people receiving supports from partnered community organizations. For organizations interested in developing a partnership with SUNY Empire, visit the Community Partnerships page.

If you are interested in becoming a student and your employer or organization is already a partner, contact SUNY Empire for information about enrolling.
 

SUNY Empire Center for Autism Inclusivity
To help meet the increasing need for professionals who work with and support individuals with autism, the Center for Autism Inclusivity will develop academic programs that prepare professionals to work with those who have autism and provide career pathways for current professionals to hone and advance their skills.

In addition, the Center will conduct research to support the workforce and provide up-to-date information, as well as education and training to professionals, employers, parents, community organizations, and others who support individuals with autism. 

For more information, visit the Center for Autism Inclusivity page.

 


 

Tuition Assistance and Workforce Development Funding

Tuition Assistance

Federal Education Assistance Program

The federal government has taken significant action to extend a temporary and generous tax benefit to employers* to cover educational expenses for employees, which SUNY campuses can leverage to support:

  • Current SUNY students or alumni. Employers can pay up to $5,250 to repay employee student loans, tax-free, to the employee and fully deductible for the employer
    *Section 2206 of the CARES Act amended Code Section 127 to allow an employer to pay for all or part of an employee’s “Qualified Education Loan” as a tax-free benefit, provided that benefit is provided as part of an employer’s education assistance program.

New York State Tuition Assistance Programs and Scholarships

New York State Tuition Assistance Program (TAP)

The New York State Tuition Assistance Program (TAP) helps eligible New York State residents pay tuition at approved schools in New York State. An annual TAP award can be up to $5,665. For more information, visit the NYS Tuition Assistance Program (TAP) page.

New York State Excelsior Scholarship Program The New York State Excelsior Scholarship Program, in combination with other student financial aid programs, allows eligible students to attend a SUNY or CUNY college tuition-free. For more information, visit the NYS Excelsior Scholarship Program page.

SUNY Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) The SUNY Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) provides access, academic support, and financial aid to qualifying students. For more information, visit the SUNY Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) page.

New York State Get on Your Feet Loan Forgiveness Program

The New York State Get on Your Feet Loan Forgiveness Program provides up to 24 months of federal student loan debt relief to eligible NYS college graduates who are participating in a federal income-driven repayment plan. For more information, visit the NYS Get on Your Feet Loan Forgiveness Program page.

New York State DREAM Act

The Senator José Peralta New York State DREAM Act gives undocumented and other students access to New York State‐administered grants and scholarships such as the Excelsior Scholarship and Tuition Assistance Program (TAP) that support higher education costs. For more information, visit the NYS DREAM Act page.

New York State Higher Education Services Corporation Military and Veteran Benefits

The New York State Higher Education Services Corporation provides additional educational and financial aid benefits to military, veterans, and their families. To view the list of benefit programs, visit the NYS Higher Education Services Corporation Military Corner page.

 

Workforce Development Funding

Workforce Development Initiative

Governor Cuomo’s Workforce Development Initiative (WDI) is investing $175 million for job training projects. Awarded projects under the new WDI Consolidated Funding Application (CFA) will support regional efforts that meet organizations’ short-term workforce needs, long-term industry needs, improve regional talent pipelines, enhance the flexibility and adaptability of local workforce entities, and expand workplace learning opportunities.

For more information about the WDI process and eligibility, visit the Workforce Development Initiative Process page.