概述

OPWDD 致力于帮助发育障碍者尽可能多地控制他们获得支持和服务的方式。自主服务在提供服务的方式、地点和提供者方面提供了最大程度的控制。可以通过自我指导获得广泛的选择。一个人可以选择以最能满足他们的兴趣和需求的方式制定一个定制的计划。

自我指导参与者承担共同管理其支持和服务的责任。责任的大小取决于参与者选择行使的权力级别。权威是医疗补助和医疗保险服务中心 (CMS) 使用的一个术语,用于描述接受服务的人在选择自行指导其服务时所使用的控制权。参与者有一系列选项来选择他们希望拥有的自我指导权限级别。有两种类型的自我指导权力:雇主权力和预算权力。一个人可以选择拥有一种或两种类型的权限。

雇主管理局

该人雇用、安排和监督支持他们的员工。他们确定将支持的活动以及提供支持的方式。服务由机构工作人员在共同就业模式下提供给个人。在共同雇佣模式中,该人可以选择雇用员工、就员工的兴趣对员工进行培训、监控并向员工提供反馈,以及在与员工的期望不一致时终止员工服务。如果一个人选择自雇其员工,他们将获得预算授权并确定这些员工的薪酬。

预算局

在预算管理局进行自我指导的人必须在个人资源账户(PRA)内工作并制定自我指导预算。 该人选择他们希望获得的商品和服务,并选择谁获得报酬来提供这些商品和服务,或者如何购买这些商品和服务。 拥有预算权限并在个人资源账户内工作的人员可以通过个人定向商品和服务(IDGS)获得所需的商品或服务。 财政中介机构(FI)与该人合作,完成预算中确定的商品和服务的账单和付款。 选择拥有预算授权的人可以接收机构支持、自雇或直接购买的服务并对其进行预算。

应用自我指导的建议

Applied Self-Direction 侧重于项目复杂性、不一致、支持经纪人的质量、规模化和财政中介职能中的以人为本的主题。您将在下面找到录制的网络研讨会,这些研讨会是为了分享来自 Applied Self-Direction 的建议而提供的。

自我指导联络人网络研讨会

支持经纪人网络研讨会

财政中介网络研讨会

学到更多

有关自我指导的更多信息,您可以联系当地发育障碍区域办公室的自我指导联络员。

查看自我指导手册

关于支持经纪人

什么是支持经纪人?
支持经纪人(“经纪人”)为选择自我指导的发育障碍人士提供帮助 
他们的发育障碍人士办公室 (OPWDD) 服务与预算管理局 制定支持圈并完成和管理自我指导预算。自我导向 在管理他们的支持和服务方面为个人提供更直接的责任。那些 参与自我指导 可以自行雇用和管理自己的员工 支持(雇主授权) 并决定他们需要的支持和服务,以及如何为这些支持提供资金 并分配服务(预算授权)。

我怎样才能成为支持经纪人?
潜在的支持经纪人必须参加 OPWDD 地区办事处提供的一系列四门课程。这些课程是自我倡导/自我决定;以人为本的规划;经纪人培训学院;和自我指导预算/模板。有兴趣的潜在经纪人可以在全州学习管理系统 (SLMS) 中注册这些培训。有关 SLMS的更多信息,请参见 SLMS 培训页面。在满足所有培训要求后,潜在经纪人可以申请获得授权并独立或通过代理机构提供有偿服务。经纪人必须每年申请重新授权,并提供持续专业发展的证明。

与自我指导的人居住在同一家庭的家庭成员 服务或该人的父母可能不会因提供经纪人而获得报酬 服务。如果 ID/DD 人士的家庭成员有兴趣提供无偿服务 为该人提供经纪人服务,他们必须经过最初的经纪人培训 如上所述的要求。

我在哪里可以找到更多信息?
有关支持经纪人以及如何成为支持经纪人的更多信息,可以从您所在地区的自我指导联络员处获得。要与区域自我指导联络员联系,请联系您的区域办事处。

 

中央经纪人授权

资源

有关自我指导的表格,请访问表格页面。

Self-Direction for Providers
SHARE

Overview

OPWDD is committed to helping people with developmental disabilities have as much control as possible over how they receive their supports and services. Self-directed services offer the greatest amount of control in how, where, and by whom services are provided. A broad range of options are available through self-direction. A person can choose to develop a plan that is customized in a way that best meets their interests and needs.

The self-direction participant accepts responsibility for co-management of their supports and services. The amount of responsibility varies depending on the level of authority the participant chooses to exercise. Authority is a term used by the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) to describe the control that a person receiving services uses when they choose to self-direct their services. Participants have a range of options for choosing the level of self-direction authority that they wish to have. There are two types of self-direction authority: Employer Authority and Budget Authority. A person may choose to have either one or both types of authority.

Employer Authority

The person hires, schedules and supervises the staff who support them. They determine the activities that will be supported and the way that support will be provided. Services are provided to the person by agency staff under a co-employment model. In a co-employment model, the person can choose to hire staff, train staff regarding their interests, monitor and provide feedback to staff, and end staff services if they are not consistent with the person’s expectations. If a person chooses to self-hire their staff, they gain Budget Authority and determine the compensation of those staff.

Budget Authority

The person who is self-directing with Budget Authority must work within a Personal Resource Account (PRA) and develop a Self-Direction Budget. The person makes choices about the goods and services he/she wishes to receive and selects who is paid to provide them or how they are purchased. A person who maintains Budget Authority and works within a Personal Resource Account may access needed goods or services through Individual Directed Goods and Services (IDGS). A Fiscal Intermediary (FI) works with the person to complete billing and payment for goods and services identified in the budget. A person who chooses to have Budget Authority can receive and budget for services that are agency supported, self-hired, or direct provider purchased.

Recommendations from Applied Self-Direction

Applied Self-Direction focused on themes of program complexity, inconsistency, quality of Support Brokers, scaling, and person-centeredness in the Fiscal Intermediaries function. Below you will find the recorded webinars that were provided to share the recommendations from Applied Self-Direction.

Webinar for Self-Direction Liaisons

Webinar for Support Brokers

Webinar for Fiscal Intermediaries

Learn More

For more information about self-direction, you can contact the Self-Direction Liaisons at your local Developmental Disabilities Regional Office.

About Support Brokers

What is a Support Broker?
Support Brokers (“Brokers”) assist people with developmental disabilities who choose to self-direct 
their Office for People with Developmental Disabilities (OPWDD) services with Budget Authority to develop a Circle of Support and complete and manage a Self-Direction Budget. Self-Direction provides individuals more direct responsibility in managing their supports and services. People who participate in Self-Direction may self-hire and manage their own staff supports (employer authority) and decide on the supports and services they need and how the funding allowed for these supports and services is allocated (budget authority).

How Can I Become a Support Broker?
Potential support brokers must attend a series of four classes provided by the OPWDD regional offices. These classes are Self-Advocacy/Self-Determination; Person-Centered Planning; Broker Training Institute; and Self-Direction Budget/Template. Interested potential brokers can register for these trainings in the Statewide Learning Management System (SLMS). More information on SLMS can be found on the SLMS training page. After meeting all training requirements, potential brokers may apply to become authorized and provide paid services either independently or through an agency. Brokers must apply for reauthorization annually and provide verification of ongoing professional development.

Family members who reside in the same household as the person who self-directs their services or who are the parents of the person may NOT be paid for providing Broker services. If a family member of a person with ID/DD is interested in providing unpaid Broker service for that person, he/she must meet the initial Broker training requirements as described above.

Where Can I find more information?
Additional information about Support Brokers and how to become a Support Broker may be obtained from your regional Self-Direction liaisons. To connect with a regional Self-Direction liaison, please contact your Regional Office. 

 

Central Broker Authorization

Resources

For forms related to self-direction, please visit the Forms page