建立联系

OPWDD 认识到在我们支持的人及其家人之间共享信息和建立联系的重要性。我们还认识到,您可能不知道从哪里获得方向和指导。 

我们希望帮助您与纽约州的众多团体建立联系。在这些组织中,有像您一样的自我倡导者、父母和家庭成员,他们经历过类似的情况并愿意分享他们的经历。 

许多这些组织和团体是由自我倡导者和残疾儿童的父母组织的。他们通常由专业人士组成,他们可以为您提供帮助或指导其他能够回答您问题的倡导团体。 

与倡导组织的链接

  1.  纽约州自我倡导协会 (SANYS) :SANYS 是全州范围内的智力/发育障碍自我倡导者网络。 SANYS 在纽约州设有地区性的自我倡导团体,为人们提供与有类似经历的人会面并讨论想法和疑虑的机会。地区性的自我倡导团体帮助发育障碍者成为他们社区的完整和有价值的成员,并帮助教育人们了解他们的权利和机会。    
  2. 自我倡导者获得授权 (SABE) :SABE 是一个代表发育障碍人士并向其提供服务的全国性组织。 SABE 的使命是确保残疾人受到平等对待,并给予他们相同的决定、选择、权利、责任和发声的机会以赋予自己权力;有机会结交新朋友,并从错误中吸取教训。 

  3. 纽约州家长与家长:纽约州家长与家长建立了一个支持性的家庭网络,以减少孤立,并使那些照顾有发育障碍或特殊医疗保健需求的人能够驾驭和影响服务系统并做出明智的决定。 

  4. 纽约州特殊教育家长中心:家长中心为所有年龄(从出生到 26 岁)和所有残疾(认知、身体、行为和情感)儿童的家庭提供服务。家长中心提供各种服务,包括一对一的支持和协助、研讨会、出版物和网站。大多数员工和董事会成员都是残疾儿童的父母,因此他们能够在与家庭一起工作时带来个人经验和专业知识。

  5. 独立生活中心:纽约独立生活协会 (NYAIL) 的使命是提高生活质量,保障权利,确保所有残疾人的平等机会,以及在残疾人内部推广独立生活理念社区和公众。 
  6. 国家唐氏综合症协会:国家唐氏综合症协会是所有唐氏综合症患者的主要人权组织。
  7. 大纽约州抽动秽语综合症协会(TSA):大纽约州抽动秽语综合症协会是全国性抽动秽语综合症协会的附属分会,该协会是一个致力于查明病因、寻找治疗方法和控制抽动秽语综合征的影响。
  8. 美国自闭症协会:美国自闭症协会通过全国性的附属机构网络在国家、州和地方各级提供宣传、教育、信息和推荐、支持和社区。
  9. 兄弟姐妹领导网络:兄弟姐妹领导网络的使命是为残障人士的兄弟姐妹提供信息、支持和工具,以便与他们的兄弟姐妹一起倡导,并宣传对他们及其整个家庭重要的问题。  
  10. 家庭支持服务委员会:家庭支持服务 (FSS) 计划通过向照顾者提供帮助、增强家庭稳定性和维护家庭团聚来帮助在家照顾发育障碍亲属的家庭。
  11. 纽约州保护有特殊需要者司法中心:司法中心的个人和家庭支持部门为接受服务的人及其家庭提供资源和支持。

Advocacy
SHARE

Making Connections

OPWDD recognizes the importance of information sharing and networking among the people we support and their families. We also recognize that you may not know where to turn to get direction and guidance. 

We want to help you get connected to the many groups that exist across New York State. Within these organizations are self-advocates, parents and family members just like you, who have experienced similar circumstances and are willing to share their experiences. 

Many of these organizations and groups are organized by self-advocates and parents of children with disabilities. They are often staffed by professionals who can provide assistance or guide you to other advocacy groups that will be able to answer your questions. 

Links to Advocacy Organizations

  1.  Self-Advocacy Association of New York State (SANYS): SANYS is a statewide network of self-advocates with intellectual/developmental disabilities.  SANYS has regional self-advocacy groups throughout New York State that provide opportunities for people to meet and discuss ideas and concerns with people who have had similar experiences.  The regional self-advocacy groups assist people with developmental disabilities to become full and valued members of their communities, and help to educate people on their rights and opportunities.    
  2. Self Advocates Becoming Empowered (SABE): SABE is a national organization that represents and provides services to people with developmental disabilities.  SABE’s mission is to ensure that people with disabilities are treated as equals and that they are given the same decisions, choices, rights, responsibilities, and chances to speak up to empower themselves; opportunities to make new friends, and to learn from their mistakes.  

  3. Parent to Parent of NYS: Parent to Parent of New York State builds a supportive network of families to reduce isolation and empower those who care for people with developmental disabilities or special healthcare needs to navigate and influence service systems and make informed decisions. 

  4. NYS Special Education Parent Centers: Parent Centers serve families of children of all ages (birth to 26) and all disabilities (cognitive, physical, behavioral and emotional). Parent Centers provide a variety of services including one-to-one support and assistance, workshops, publications and websites. The majority of staff and board members are parents of children with disabilities, so they are able to bring personal experience and expertise when working with families.

  5. Independent Living Centers: The New York Association on Independent Living (NYAIL)'s mission is improving the quality of life, safeguarding the rights, and ensuring equal opportunities for all people with disabilities, as well as promoting the independent living philosophy both within the disability community and to the public. 
  6. National Down Syndrome Society: The National Down Syndrome Society is the leading human rights organization for all people with Down syndrome.
  7. Tourette Syndrome Association of Greater New York State (TSA): The Tourette Syndrome Association of Greater New York State is an affiliate chapter of the national Tourette Syndrome Association, Inc., a national voluntary health organization dedicated to identifying the cause, finding the cure and controlling the effects of Tourette Syndrome.
  8. The Autism Society of America: The Autism Society of America provides advocacy, education, information and referral, support, and community at national, state and local levels through a nationwide network of affiliates.
  9. The Sibling Leadership Network: The mission of the Sibling Leadership Network is to provide siblings of individuals with disabilities the information, support and tools to advocate with their brothers and sisters and to promote the issues important to them and their entire families.  
  10. Family Support Services Councils: The Family Support Services (FSS) Program helps families who are caring at home for a relative with a developmental disability by providing aid to the caregiver, enhancing family stability and preserving family unity.