房屋类型

OPWDD 为您在家中或社区的家中提供支持,以便您尽可能独立。

根据您的需要,您可以:

  • 与您的家人一起住在您的家中,并获得适当的支持,例如喘息和社区适应。
  • 在您自己的公寓或房屋中,在协助下独立生活。您也可以聘请住家看护人。住房补贴可帮助您管理家庭或公寓的费用。
  • 付费邻居会在您需要时为您提供帮助,以完成某些任务或处理问题。他们随时待命为您提供帮助。
  • 家庭护理是与另一个家庭一起生活,参与家庭所做的所有事情。
  • 在某些情况下,根据您的需求水平,您可能需要与其他有发育障碍的人一起住在集体之家。

 

独立生活

OPWDD 通过帮助支付住房费用来支持人们在社区中尽可能独立地生活。这种帮助以住房补贴的形式提供。如果您申请住房补贴,您的住房补贴金额将根据您居住的县、将住在您家中的人数以及您家中的卧室数量来确定.您需要将收入的一部分用于支付住房费用。 

如果您一个人住在公寓或家中,您可以获得支持和服务来帮助您管理您的家庭和日常活动。您可以参加有偿工作、日间计划、社区适应训练或志愿者活动,并学习如何在社区中独自管理。

您还可以与您选择的不相关的人住在一起,称为住家看护人,他可以在您的日常生活中为您提供帮助,并确保您在获得食宿时安全健康。 

当您需要帮助完成特定任务时,“付费邻居”可以帮助您。由于您无法自行管理的问题或任务,他们会“随时待命”为您提供帮助。

如果您的家不能满足您的需求,您可以获得对环境修改或电子改装的支持。这些可以是对您的家进行的物理改变,可以帮助您安全地在家中生活并进入社区,例如轮椅坡道。

 

家庭护理

家庭护理营造一个稳定和充满关爱的家庭环境。如果您喜欢住在家庭住宅中,这对您来说可能是一个不错的住房选择。家庭护理院由 OPWDD 认证,家庭护理提供者确保您获得安全和活跃所需的帮助。提供者可以是单身或已婚,拥有或租用他们的房子。

提供者来自各种宗教、种族和社会背景。他们会报销您的食宿、里程和其他费用。对家庭中的成年人进行各种背景调查,家庭护理提供者接受一系列科目的培训。所有房屋都经过全面的安全检查。

集团首页

与一小群人一起住在由 OPWDD 或我们的一个提供机构运营的认证房屋中,如果需要,可以为您提供额外的支持,同时继续为您提供社区生活的机会。家中的工作人员将帮助满足您和家中其他人的需求。 

 

搬到社区的家中

如果您居住在机构环境中,并且有兴趣搬入社区中较小的房屋,您可以在Money Follows the Person (MFP) 计划的帮助下这样做。 Money Follows the Person 计划帮助和支持想要离开机构护理并在家中和社区接受服务的人。查看转向社区生活的人们的个人故事。

Money Follows the Person 计划是通过Open Doors 计划提供的,该计划为目前居住在中间护理机构 (ICF)、医院和疗养院以及希望搬到社区环境中的人们提供过渡援助和同伴支持。 Open Doors 计划由纽约独立生活协会 (NYAIL) 通过与纽约州卫生部 (DOH) 签订的合同运营。要参加 Money Follows the Person 计划,您必须注册 Care Coordination。 Money Follows the Person (MFP) 计划的转介可以由许多来源进行,例如您、您的家人或倡导者、您的服务提供者、OPWDD 或其他社区资源。  

谁可以参加 MFP 计划?
18 岁或以上的成年人:

  • 社区过渡前至少一天的医疗补助;
  • 过渡前在疗养院、医院或中级护理机构生活至少 60 天;
  • 可以通过护理协调在社区中满足的需求,其中可能包括 HCBS 服务;
  • 搬到社区住所(见下文);
  • 发育和/或智力障碍并符合 ICF/IID(以前的 ICF/MR)护理水平;
  • 自愿同意参加该计划。

什么是 MFP 社区住宅?

  • 社区住宅,定义为:
  • 您或您的家庭成员拥有或租用的房屋;要么
  • 拥有您自己租约的公寓,包括您或您的家人控制的起居区、睡眠区、洗澡区和烹饪区;要么
  • 不超过 4 名无关人员居住的社区住宅。

如需更多 Money Follows the Person 推荐信息,请与您的护理经理联系或联系 OPWDD。

Housing
SHARE

Types of Housing

OPWDD provides supports for you to live at home or in a home in your community so you can be as independent as possible.

Depending upon your needs, you could:

  • Live with your family in your family home with the right supports, such as respite and community habilitation.
  • Live independently with assistance, in your own apartment or house. You can also have a live-in caregiver. Housing subsidies are available to help you manage the costs of your home or apartment.
  • Paid Neighbor provides help to you when you need it, for certain tasks or dealing with problems. They are "on-call" to help you.
  • Family Care is living with another family, participating in all the things that families do.
  • In some circumstances, depending upon your level of need, you may need to live in a group home with other people with developmental disabilities.

 

Independent Living

OPWDD supports people to live as independently in the community as possible by helping with housing costs. This help comes in the form of a housing subsidy. If you ask for a housing subsidy, the amount of your housing subsidy will be decided using a formula that takes into account the county you live in, the number of people who will be living in your home, and the number of bedrooms in your home. You are expected to contribute a percentage of your income towards your housing costs. 

If you live by yourself in an apartment or home, you can receive supports and services to help you manage your home and daily activities. You can participate in paid work, day programs, community habilitation or volunteer and learn how to manage alone in the community.

You can also live with an unrelated person of your choosing called a live-in caregiver who can help you in your daily life and make sure you are safe and well while receiving room and board. 

A "paid neighbor" can help you when you need assistance with a particular task. They are "on-call" to help you once in a while because of a problem or task you can't manage on your own.

If your home is not set up to meet your needs, you can receive supports for environmental modifications or e-mods. These can be physical changes made to your home that can help you live safely in your home and get out into the community, such as a wheelchair ramp.

 

Family Care

Family Care fosters a stable and caring home environment. This may be a good housing option for you if you enjoy living in a family home. Family Care homes are certified by OPWDD and the family care provider makes sure you have the help you need to be safe and active. Providers can be single or married, own or rent their home.

Providers come from every religious, ethnic and social background. They are reimbursed for your room and board, mileage and other expenses. Various background checks are performed on adults in the home and family care providers receive training in a range of subjects. All homes undergo a complete safety inspection.

Group Home

Living with a small group of people in a certified house operated by OPWDD or one of our provider agencies can provide you with extra support if needed while continuing to provide you with the opportunity for community living. Staff at the home will help meet your needs and the needs of other people living in the home. 

 

Move to a Home in the Community

If you live in an institutional setting and are interested in moving into a smaller home in the community, you may be able to do so with the help of the Money Follows the Person (MFP) program. The Money Follows the Person program assists and supports people who want to leave institutional care and receive services in their homes and communities. See personal stories of people who have made the switch to community living.

The Money Follows the Person program is offered through the Open Doors program which provides transition assistance and peer support to people who currently live in Intermediate Care Facilities (ICF), hospitals and nursing homes, and who want to move to a community setting. The Open Doors program is operated by New York Association on Independent Living (NYAIL) through a contract with NYS Department of Health (DOH). To take part in the Money Follows the Person program, you must enroll in Care Coordination.  Referrals for the Money Follows the Person (MFP) program can be made by many sources, such as you, your family members or advocates, your providers of services, OPWDD, or other community resources.  

Who Can Participate in the MFP Program?
Adults age 18 years or older who have:

  • Medicaid for at least one day before community transition;
  • Lived in a nursing home, hospital, or intermediate care facility for at least 90 days prior to transition;
  • Needs that can be met in the community with care coordination which may include HCBS services;
  • Moved to a community residence (see below);
  • A developmental and/or intellectual disability and meet ICF/IID (formerly ICF/MR) level of care;
  • Voluntarily consented to participate in the program.

What qualifies as an MFP community residence?

  • A community residence, is defined as:
  • A home owned or leased by you or a family member; or
  • An apartment with your own lease, which includes living, sleeping, bathing, and cooking areas which you or your family control; or
  • A community–based residence in which no more than 4 unrelated people reside.

For additional Money Follows the Person referral information please speak with your Care Manager or contact OPWDD.